For Immediate Release: June 15, 2023

Capital Region Track, Field and Cross Country Hall of Fame Announces Its Scholastic Award winners

For additional Information, Contact GCRTFCCHOF President Peter Sheridan 518.399.1419 (h), 518.860.7721 (c), psheridan3@nycap.rr.com
 Visit www.runtrackhof.com or www.facebook.com/CapitalRegionTrackFieldCrossCountryHallofFame

Newly crowned state champions Neil Howard of Taconic Hills and Bashir Praileau of Albany Academy head the list of 2023 Scholastic Awards being presented by the Greater Capital Region Track, Field and Cross Country Hall of Fame.

Sprint and hurdle specialists Kendall Barnhart of Guilderland and Abigail Wicks of Averill Park were also chosen, and the Guilderland girls' crew of head coach Chris Scanlan and assistants Dave Kosier, Taylor Mead and Dan Penna earned a new award as Track Coaching Staff of the Year.

All of the Scholastic Award winners will be honored when the GCRTFCCHOF inducts nine new members into its hall during a banquet on Oct. 7 at the Albany Marriott on Wolf Road in Colonie.

Howard, a junior, swept his way to Division 2 and/or Federation state titles in the pole vault, 100-meter hurdles and 400-meter hurdles, the latter in a Section II-record 52.41. Praileau was the Federation long jump champion and runner-up in the Federation 100-meter hurdles. The Northeastern-bound senior's long jump best of 23-7 ½ in the Colonial Council meet and 14.48 in the state meet high hurdles led Section II this spring.

Barnhart, a junior, chalked up victories in numerous invitational and championship meets and had the fastest 200 (25.09) and 400 (56.90) times in the section. She also posted a 63.91 in the 400-meter hurdles. Wicks, a senior committed to Johnson C. Smith University, finished second on the 400 hurdles list

at 62.48, won the Eddy Meet 100-meter hurdles, swept four gold medals in the Group 2 sectionals and was among Section II leaders in the 100, 200 and 400 dashes.

The Guilderland girls' coaching staff celebrated team titles in eight major meets, including the Eddy Meet and Group 1 Sectionals while going unbeaten in dual meet competition.

Honorable Mentions included Sheridan Wheeler, Amelia McBain and Emily Bush of Saratoga Springs, Addison Vellekoop of Guilderland, Ryan Hesler of Niskayuna, Kejhaune Lester of Columbia, Rylee VanAlstine of Broadalbin-Perth and Kyler Alston of Shaker.